Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

6
This chocolate chip cookie recipe is way better than the Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip bag recipe. Believe me.

I adore making chocolate chip cookies, it’s a classic household favorite – eat it warm or cold, with milk or icecream, for breakfast or a midnight snack – I don’t think anyone can resist chewy bakery style cookies. I’m so glad I tried this recipe because these cookies right here are big, beautiful, rich, buttery, chewy, fluffy…Need I say more?!
12

After reading several recipes online, I collected a few tips to end up with thick and chewy chocolate chip cookies, just the way I like it. (I know you do too). The secret is to increase the ratio of dark brown sugar to white sugar for a richer flavor of molasses, add cornflour/cornstarch for a fluffy texture, and under-bake the cookies (yes, have faith please!). So why cornflour? Both cornflour and flour are cereal starches but flour contains gluten which reduces the thickening power. That’s why cornflour is often used with flour to add a lighter structure to baked goods and increase tenderness (such as cake flour).
1

Like I said earlier, underbaking the cookies is a must. As soon as the outsides are set and the centers are still puffy, remove them immediately! The cookies will continue to bake on the hot cookie sheet even after being taken out of the oven. If your cookie sheets are too small, refrigerate the batter in between batches. I assure you, the cookies will retain their chewy texture even the next day – that’s IF there are any cookies left 😉

I also tried a new way of forming cookie dough balls instead of just dropping tablespoons on the cookie sheet. If you want to create jagged cookies don’t roll the dough into a perfect round shape. Just pull the dough apart with your fingertips to create an uneven surface then jam the pieces together to form a ball. You can see the difference here:

4
3

LOOK at the oozing chocolate! Oh my.
9

Just a closer look.
8
13
It’s official – this is chocolate chip heaven! Every bite melts in your mouth and the chocolate chips literally explode on your taste buds especially when the cookies are hot from the oven.

Ingredients: (makes around 25 cookies)

  • 3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:
1. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
2. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, cornstarch, salt, and baking soda. Set aside.
3. Cream the butter and sugars together on medium speed until fluffy and light in color.
4. Mix in egg and vanilla.
5. On low speed, mix in flour mixture.
6. Stir in chocolate chips.
7. Preheat oven to 350 F/175 C.
8. Drop 1 tablespoon of dough onto cookie sheet.
9. Bake for 8-9 minutes, until slightly golden around the bottom edges. (Do not exceed 10 minutes).
10. Let cool for 3 minutes on the cookie sheet.
11. Transfer to cooling rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

22 thoughts on “Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I’ve been using the cornstarch trick too – it looks like it worked out PERFECTLY in your cookies! They look absolutely thick and chewy and chocolate-y and soft and amazing. 🙂 I love that side-by-side comparison of the two cookie-shaping methods too!

    • Thank you! They really are the best homemade cookies I’ve ever made. And I never thought that shaping the dough before baking the cookies can make such a big difference in the way they turn out.

  2. I’m literally salivating looking at these!! This looks like the perfect recipe I’ve been looking for- soft, fluffy and lusciously chewy cookies. Next time I make cookies, I’m all over this, thank you!

  3. Hey Tania,
    I made these cookies a few hours ago, and they were fantastic! Even my husband loved them, and he’s basically not a cookie lover. Thanks sooooo much for the recipe!!!

  4. I made these…sadly they flattened completely out like the Toll House Recipe… I kneaded in another 1/4 cup of flour. If that does not work, I know to cut back on the butter to 1 cup instead of 1.5 cups.

    • I strongly recommend that you follow the recipe exactly! You should use 3/4 cup of butter not 1.5 cups (that’s 170 grams or 1.5 stick of butter). I think you used 340 grams of butter that’s why they flattened out.

  5. Pingback: Vanilla Bean Ice Cream | Brownie Box

  6. Pingback: Orange Bundt Cake | Brownie Box

Leave a Reply

